I wanted to share this with you, because I’m pretty proud of it! I made it for a lovely lady named Leslie in an organised cushion cover swap on Craftster.

Image

Image

ImageImage

The main body of the cushion is made from 100% hemp canvas. The koi’s head, fins, and the lotus flower are all stencilled on using water-based screen printing ink and hand-cut paper stencils. The ‘scales’ are a mixture of cotton embroidery floss, sari silk scraps, glass seed beads and cotton quilting fabrics. It’s a 14″ square cover, and each scale took about 10 minutes to work as all the embellishment was done by hand.

It made such a nice change to be able to make without worrying about what the retail price would be, haha! :)

A big thank you to Leslie for being my first ever craft-swap partner, it was awesome!

P.S. Here’s what she sent me…

Image

