So today, I made a treasury based on the colours I just can’t get enough of at the moment. I featured some of my very favourite sellers (so there’s plenty of my very favourite techniques in there, too). And then I read this blog post and it got me thinking about what frustrates me the most; pricing.

I have a very strict formula for pricing my products that I stick to pretty religiously, and I put a realistic price on my time. Unfortunately, most of my favourite techniques are the most hands-on, labour-intensive and time-consuming. And I’m a bit of a perfectionist. Which means the products I would most like to make are immediately priced out of the market! Elaborate crochet and lavish hand embroidery are just about my favourite things ever, and they certainly have their place. But I made myself a hand-embroidered headband today using scrap materials and because of all that hand stitching, it took me 50 minutes. Which would make the retail price about £21.

Now, I’m not totally choking on that one. And there are people happy to sell similar products for twice that, and they’re beautiful and worth every penny. But there are also those who would set their bar a lot lower, and I’m competing with them.

So what’s a girl to do?

Stick to the plan, that’s what — and have faith. I can’t stand underpricing my work, so I just trust that the right buyer is out there or I make something different… and go easy on the hand embroidery.

How do you balance time value vs. market value?

Oh, and go add some goodies to the Rikrak Studio gift guides!

