It seems I’m not off to a brilliant start here, with the lack of a post last week. The reason is that we very sadly lost a much-loved family pet at the beginning of last week and it turned everything upside-down for a few days. He was a beautiful little ginger and white tom cat named Casper, just two years old, and he was a little ray of sunshine for all of us.

Anyway. I’ve had two little projects on the go for a couple of weeks (spare-time projects, as my payment will be gratitude!). The lovely Sue, who was one of my teachers when I was at primary school (and whom I consider to be my first art teacher), is retiring this Friday. I had already started making her a gift from myself when I was asked to make the book that would contain a goodbye picture from each of the students in school. I’m fairly certain she won’t be reading, so I’ll give you a sneak preview (with my apologies for the poor photographs!):

suebagouter

The bag is constructed out of black cotton and embellished with silk using a mixture of hand and machine stitching. The design is based on a peacock feather (in case you couldn’t guess). I remember drawing peacock feathers in her class when I was very small.

suebaginnerThe lining is also sari fabric – you’ll notice I very cleverly stitched the lining in backwards, as my name label should be visible here. Not something I’ve ever done before or since, I must have been very sleepy that day… ;)

suebook1

And this is the book. It’s A3 sized, longstitch-bound and covered with hemp canvas.

suebook2It has a flap closure with recycled sari ribbon to fasten. The purple spots are also scrap sari silk – I seem to have a thing for sari silk lately!

suebook3I’ll be giving sue the bag tomorrow and the book – complete with children’s pictures (which are utterly adorable) – will be presented to her on Friday. Happy retirement Sue!

